Stock piling

 With winter on our doorstep I decided it was time to make a big batch of stock. Soups are a staple here in the colder months and I wanted to make sure I have plenty of stock in the freezer. The recipe below is really just a guide, you can add more or less of any of the ingredients if you wish. I freeze a lot of offcuts from vegies so when it comes to making stock, it costs me next to nothing and is so quick and easy. I guess doing this serves 2 purposes, cheap, easy stock and the spring onions and celery fit in my fridge better with the tops removed. Of course I also add a few fresh things to the pot. For those who are less sensitive, you can add peeled carrots and other moderate vegetables if you wish.
 
8 chicken carcasses
2 leeks chopped roughly
Tops of 9 bunches of spring onions
Tops of 2 celeries
1 bulb of  garlic, smashed and peeled
¼ white cabbage

1/2 a celery, leaves and all, roughly chopped

Stalks of a bunch of parsley
2 swedes, peeled and roughly chopped
2 tsps citric acid
1 tbsp Salt
Water
Place all ingredients into large boiler (20 litre) andfill just below the rim with water. Cover and bring to the boil. Reduce heat andsimmer no less than 2 hours. Scoop off a little of the fat that sits on the surface and  store in 1 litre containers in the freezer (I also like to fill a few smaller containers just in case I cook something that needs only a little stock). For ease and safety, I carefully ladle it into the containers, making sure I don’t get any of the vegies and chicken in with it. Only when it gets right down do I strain it. A 20 litre pot is VERY heavy when full!

 
 
3 thoughts on “Stock piling

  1. Pingback: An amazing makeover and “not stroganoff” « mindyourfeed

  2. Pingback: Quinotto « mindyourfeed

  3. Pingback: Perfect Zucchini soup « mindyourfeed

Leave a Reply

