Gluten free apple crumble

My brother and his family were coming over for dinner on Good Friday. It was a spur of the moment thing that my bro and I organised on the Thursday afternoon. We decided on having just a simple bbq with salad, they were bringing some chicken thighs and a salad and I was going to get some chops out of the freezer and make a salad or 2 that my kids could eat (knowing that my brother and his partner wouldn’t be bringing anything failsafe). Friday came and I decided that I needed to make a dessert as well. Nothing fancy as I really couldn’t be bothered with the mess. After thinking long and hard about what everyone might like to eat, and what ingredients I had in the house, because of course being Good Friday nothing would be open for me to get supplies. The day before I had been grocery shopping and bought a big bag of golden delicious apples. I toyed with the idea of an apple pie but that just seemed like far too much effort for the mood I was in so I decided on an apple crumble, gluten free of course.

Crumble topping resembling bread crumbs

6 golden delicious apples

2 tbsp of maple syrup

1/2 cup of crushed raw cashews

1/4 cup of quinoa flakes

1/2 cup of rice flour

1/2 cup of arrowroot

1 tsp of xanthan gum

3 tbsp of brown sugar

3 tbsp of Nuttelex or butter

 

Preheat oven to 180° Celsius. Peel and slice the apples and place in a saucepan with the maple syrup. Cover and cook over low heat for about 10 minutes until just tender. In a bowl, mix the dry ingredients together well then rub in the butter until the mixture resembles course fresh breadcrumbs. Put the apples into a baking dish (I used one that was about 25cm x 8cm and 7cm deep) then evenly spread the crumble mixture over the top. Bake for about 45 minutes or until the crumble is golden and the apples are just bubbling around the edges of the topping.

 

Delicious served with cream

Leave a Reply

