Allergy free burritos

I had never made burritos before, in fact I’m not sure I have even eaten them. I was watching “Good Chef, Bad Chef” on Saturday and was totally inspired by Janella Purcell’s recipe and, in true Schana style, decided I could make a failsafe version that is also gluten free. So without another thought, I announced to the family that we were having burritos for dinner. Arrgh, I really had no idea what I was doing or what I was going to do about gluten, soy, corn and additive free tortillas to wrap the filling in! The thinking cap went on and before long I had decided that gluten free crepes were my best bet.

I try to avoid using regular gluten free flour where I can as I find it lacks flavour and I don’t trust all the ingredients, besides, I like to play around with things too much. Having never made gluten free crepes before, I had no idea how they would turn out. After cooking the first one, I had a taste and had to do a little tweaking, so the first 3 were my guinea pigs but by the fourth I had it nailed. I did find they had a slightly rubbery texture, but gee they tasted good and that texture worked really well in the finished dish. I also found them to be very malleable when it came to wrapping up the filling. I was worried that, like so many gluten free things, they would fall apart as I rolled the burritos but alas, they didn’t…they actually rolled up better than any flat bread I have ever bought.

 

Gluten free crepes

1/2 cup of besan (chickpea) flour

1 cup of potato flour

1/4 cup of arrowroot

1 tsp of xanthan gum

1/2 tsp of salt

2 1/2 cups of rice milk

2 eggs

oil

 

Place dry ingredients in a bowl and mix well. Gently whisk to aerate than add the egg and milk. Whisk until smooth. Heat a little oil in a non stick fry pan over medium heat. Pour in about 4 tablespoons of the batter and swirl around the pan so the crepe isn’t too thick. Cook for about 2 to 3 minutes then flip and cook another 2 to 3 minutes. I found that the crepes tend to stick a little so I had to peel them gently off the pan before flipping. If they tore, I just spooned a little extra batter over the tear (a bit like putty) and allowed that to cook before flipping.  Also, if you’re cooking these crepes to eat on their own without a filling, cook for a little longer on each side until they are slightly golden.

 

Burrito filling

1 kg of lean mince

2 tins of beans (I used 5 bean mix but you could use any), drained and rinsed

2 large shallots, diced

1 stalk of celery finely chopped

2 cloves of crushed garlic

1 tsp of salt

1 1/2 tsps of citric acid

1 cup of pear juice

pinch of saffron

cheese if tolerated or lightly beaten egg if dairy free

oil

 

Heat a little oil in a fry pan over high heat. Sautee the shallot and celery for a few minutes then add the mince and garlic. Brown the mince then add the remaining ingredients and bring to the boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about 30 minutes or until the liquid has evaporated.

 

Assembling the burritos

Place a couple of tablespoons of the mince in a line in the centre of a crepe, top with a little cheese or beaten egg and roll up (I folded the ends in first just to make the burritos easier to handle when I fried them). Place the prepared burritos fold side down (the side that has the overlap) in a lightly oiled fry pan and cook until golden then turn and cook the other side until golden.

Admittedly not the neatest burritos but pretty good for a first attempt

Mmmmm, looking yum

2 thoughts on “Allergy free burritos

  1. You are one brave and resourceful lady! My hat goes off to you….Now that you have experimented with burritos, how about enchiladas? Same process but top it all off with a sauce (usually a tomato based one with some kick to it) and cheese (in your case maybe vegan cheese?). Put everthing in the oven and voila! Alternative to mince is chopped chicken…I knew nothing about Mexican food until I moved to LA 17 years ago and boy did I learn!
    By the way, I am 100% with you when you say that the correlation between what we put in our bodies and our behavioural patterns is stronger than we think.

    • Thank you. I guess when you have kids with food intolerances, you have to be. Gosh, if I had no imagination or cooking ability, food would be so boring. I’m considering going and doing a cookery course to broaden my horizons even more, it’s just a matter of finding the time to fit that in.
      Good idea about the enchiladas but the only problem is coming up with a sauce as my son can’t eat tomatoes. Food for thought though, I’m sure I will eventually come up with something 🙂

Leave a Reply

