Asian style salad dressing

This one is for my new friend, Su, the English, gum leaf sniffing guest. There are several variations and I use it on a lot of different salads so I’ll include a couple of examples. You could even use it to marinate meat or chicken. I had no intention of adding it to my blog so I have never measured the ingredients so I am guessing. If or when I do think to measure, if the quantities end up being different to my guessing, I will update the post.

juice of 1 juicy lime (or lemon if limes aren’t available)

4 tbsps of macadamia oil (you could use peanut, sunflower, canola or any other nut oil, just not olive oil)

1 tsp of sesame oil (a little more if, like me, you LOVE the stuff)

1 tbsp of maple syrup (palm sugar or brown sugar)

1 tbsp of soy sauce

1 clove of crushed garlic

Place all ingredients in a jar and shake, or a jug and whisk. Use as much as necessary to adequately dress your salad of choice

Salad ideas

1/2 an iceberg lettuce, broken into bite sized pieces

1 Lebanese cucumber (what do you think they call these in Lebanon?), sliced

1 avocado, sliced

3 spring onions, sliced

half a bunch of roughly chopped corriander

or

1/4 of a wombok (Chinese cabbage) shredded, or baby pak choy

3 sliced spring onions

1 Lebanese cucumber cut into straws

a handful of snow peas (lightly blanched if you wish)

1 packet of fresh baby corn, roughly chopped

bean shoots

1 packet of crunchy fried noodles (add these just before serving or they go soggy)

Asian herbs

or

mixed salad greens

tomato

blanched fresh asparagus

toasted pine nuts or chopped macadamias

red onion finely sliced

I could go on for days but I won’t. Just use your imagination and have fun with it

Leave a Reply

