Schnitzelheimers

Yes, that’s what we call schnitzels in this house. I needed a way to distinguish our gluten free, failsafe schnitzels from the regular variety, and me being me with a somewhat childish mind at times, there is an odd name for many ordinary things. It seems nothing is immune to a “Schanaism”. I often wonder if my partner’s giggles at my silly rhymes and names are giggles of amusement or annoyance. I think he’s rather delighted by them by the way he asks me to repeat myself or says, “Pardon?” if I don’t add the rhyme to a word I usually add a rhyme to. Does anyone else so these sorts of things, or is it just me?

Every time I make schnitzelheimers, my partner asks me to get him a couple of regular schnitzels from the chicken shop, citing that he’s “not going to eat that gluten free shit”, yet he ALWAYS takes at least 2 left over schnitzelheimers to work the next day and enjoys them thoroughly! I have to giggle. I’m assuming this is a common thing in families where some are gluten free and others aren’t, am I right?

Anyway, enough of that. I usually serve my schnitzelheimers with mashed potato, leeking cabbage and whatever other vegies I have lying around. I have always been of the opinion that schnitzels MUST have mash and cabbage as a side, they just go so well together. This time, however, I didn’t serve any mash or potato of any kind as I have decided to reduce our carbohydrate intake, and you know what? It was still a really yummy dinner. I had my reservations but was pleasantly surprised, I didn’t miss my mash at all.

Now, when it comes to crumbing the chicken, the kids love to help. I always put one in charge of flouring and the other in charge of crumbing and to avoid arguments they have the same job each time….I tell them each that they are the best at what they do…and I always do the egg as it is the messiest and I can handle cleaning flour or crumbs off every surface but not egg. Oh, another thing, I always use chicken leg fillets because I prefer them but you could use breast if you prefer. I also mix rice flour and potato starch but you could use plain gluten free flour if you prefer, it’s just that mixing the 2 is a little more economic.

1 kg of chicken fillets, pounded with a meat tenderiser until about 1/2 a centimetre thick

4 eggs, lightly beaten

1/4 cup of rice flour

1/4 cup of potato starch

1 1/2 tsp of salt

4 tsps of garlic powder

300 g of rice crumbs

2 tsps of dried parsley (optional)

oil for shallow frying

On a largish platter, mix the flours, salt and garlic. Spread the crumbs on another largish platter and mix in the parsley. Thoroughly coat each fillet in the flour mix, then in the egg and finally in the crumbs. Heat some oil in a large fry pan over high heat and cook the schnitzels for about 4 minutes on each side. The rice crumbs don’t go golden like bread crumbs do but they do change colour sightly to a very pale gold. Drain on paper towel once cooked.

 

 

Leave a Reply

