Sour worms that aren’t at all lollies

I bought a dehydrator a few months ago and had only used it once. I really don’t know why…is it because I just don’t think to use it? Or is it because I associate it with too much effort? I really have no idea. For some reason I had an epiphany about drying some rhubarb the other day. My boys just love the stuff and I have used it in cakes, desserts, jam and even just stewed to have on their breakfast. I had no idea how the dried rhubarb would turn out or if they would like it but hey, nothing ventured, nothing gained.

The kids were really excited when they walked in the door after school to see the dehydrator in use and rather disappointed when I told them they had to wait a few hours before they could sample  the goods. Well I think it was worth the wait for them. I tried one and thought it had a very familiar taste/sensation about it but couldn’t pin point it. My eldest tried it and exclaimed, “It’s like sour worms mum!” That was it, he’d hit the nail on the head. I asked if I could get away with passing them off as lollies at a kid’s birthday party….the answer was “Yes”, so we’ll see in a month or 2 when birthday season is upon us!

We had a big family feast last night with my parents, my mummy in law, who is visiting from Tunisia, and our English guest. Whilst Mil and I were busy cooking, my middle son decided to offer around these “sour worms” and the entire lot vanished! Everyone seemed to like them. Haha, everything I have cooked this last week that our English guest has tried, I have been asked, (*cue British accent*) “Is that going to be on your blog?”. To which I reply, “Would you like it to be?” (*cue British accent again*) “Oh yes please, and don’t forget to tag me on Facebook”.

 

1 bunch of rhubarb (about 6 stalks cut into approximately 5cm lengths then quartered lengthways)

1 tbsp of white sugar

Place rhubarb sticks into a large bowl and toss through the sugar to coat well. Set aside for 1 hour. Strain off the juice (my middle son drank this as a little treat and loved it) then arrange the rhubarb in the dehydrator so that no pieces touch. Set the dehydrator to about 55° C and leave it for 6 or 7 hours. Voile, sour worms!

 

One thought on “Sour worms that aren’t at all lollies

  1. Pingback: GO NATURAL: A mother lode of dehydration recipes | The Chronic Illness Warriors

Leave a Reply

