Cereal snacks that need a catchy name….now “Nibbly no-nuts”

Yes I know, it sounds very unappetising but they taste great and have been a very popular snack in this house, even visitors get stuck in. I am appealing to you all to try and come up with a name for my creation. I’d love to be able to offer some amazing prize for the “winning entry” but I’m afraid that all I can offer is a little satisfaction and pride if I choose the name you come up with. But don’t let this put you off, I really need a little help with this one, please 🙂 Ok, stop there, I have the name.  After a few days of brain bending, I asked my Mil and our English guest to help me come up with something (the perfect people to help considering they’ve tried this “delicacy”). We threw around some ideas and eventually decided on “Nibbly No-nuts”. It made us giggle so it stuck. We even came up with a marketing slogan, “Nibbly No-nuts, the perfect no nut nibbles”.

A few years ago I made “Nuts and Bolts” which was basically “Nutrigrain” breakfast cereal seasoned with a few spices and some oil and roasted. Obviously this is where I drew inspiration from for these Failsafe versions. I have made this a few times now and used different cereal each time but they have all been “Os”, like “quinoa Os” or “millet rings” but I think they would work with a number of different types of breakfast cereal, even rice puffs. In fact, you could make little clusters with the puffs by filling little patty pans….I might try that myself!

Sweet no-nuts

2 1/2 cups of breakfast cereal

1/3 cup of pear juice

1 tsp of vanilla paste (you could use fresh vanilla or vanilla essence)

1 tbsp of maple syrup

Preheat oven to 120° C. Place all ingredients in a bowl and mix until the cereal is well coated then spread evenly in 1 layer on a baking tray. Bake for about 20 minutes or until browned. Allow to cool before storing in an airtight container.

Sweet and sour no-nuts

These can easily be made into savoury snacks by omitting the sweet ingredients.

2 1/2 cups of cereal

1 tsp of citric acid

2 tbsps of pear juice

1 tbsp of oil

1 tsp of salt

1 clove of crushed garlic

1 tbsp of maple syrup

Preheat oven to 120° C. Place all ingredients in a bowl and mix until the cereal is well coated then spread evenly in 1 layer on a baking tray. Bake for about 20 minutes or until browned. Allow to cool before storing in an airtight container.

4 thoughts on “Cereal snacks that need a catchy name….now “Nibbly no-nuts”

      • Nawww, that’s what I liked about it!! TOUGH!!! Like Iron Man food. This is SOLDIER FOOD. Okay then… it jumped out at me. Are you after something a bit more classy? 🙂 Sassy is good.

      • Oh, I see where you’re coming from with SAS snacks but I really want something a bit quirky, certainly not classy, or even something totally ridiculous, like loose screws…

Leave a Reply

