Rice paper rolls, the perfect family meal!

Every time we have these, I wonder why we don’t have them more often. They are so easy and so delicious and the kids get a real kick out of rolling their own. Not to mention that they are perfect for adapting to different tastes and dietary requirements. In this house, we all have different intolerances. The one common one is dairy, we all have issues with that, but as far as salycilates and amines go, there is only one who is highly sensitive and when I cook the family meal everyday, I have to cater for him, so we all eat “his” food. I’m forever trying to think of ways to adapt meals for the rest of us but it often means too much work so I don’t bother, plus the food I cook is really very tasty, if I do say so myself. I do love my Asian flavours though, a bit of chilli, coriander, sesame oil, etc, etc so I like to be able to add these flavours to my meals when I can and I really miss that flavour punch and crave it from time to time, that’s why this would have to be the perfect family meal.

All my boys are real carnivores, they all love steak. Blurgh, I hate the stuff. I do eat a little bit of lamb every now and then and I love chicken. I found these fantastic “sizzle steaks” at Woolworths, very thinly sliced beef that take just 20 seconds to cook and are so versatile. We often use them as cold cuts but I have also realised that they are great on pizzas and now in rice paper rolls. Of course I wasn’t going to taint my meal with these so I cooked myself some stir fried chicken slices. The real beauty of these is that you’re only limited by your imagination. Here’s what I did……..

12 sizzle steaks, cooked for 10 seconds each side

1/2 kg of stir fried chicken slices

1 cos lettuce, shredded

1 Lebanese cucumber, peeled and cut into sticks

1 avocado, sliced

2 large shallots thinly sliced

1 bunch of asparagus, cut in half lengthways and lightly blanched

1/2 bunch of coriander

2 cups of bean sprouts

1 quantity saffron dipping sauce (basic dressing with about 4 saffron threads added)

a few tbsps of Vietnamese dipping sauce (from a bottle)

1 packet of rice paper (available in the Asian aisle of the supermarket or any Asian grocer)

I arrange the salad stuff on a platter and the meats on separate plates.

Salad platter

Stir fried chicken slices

Sizzle steaks

The full spread

I also place a large bowl of warm water on the table, with a tea towel for dipping the dry rice paper into. To assemble, place whatever fillings you desire towards one edge of the wet rice paper (don’t over saturate the rice paper as it becomes very difficult to handle, especially for the kids) then roll up. You can also spoon a small amount of dipping sauce onto the filling before rolling up or you can just dip after.

Roll up like this

Voila, the finished product!

5 thoughts on “Rice paper rolls, the perfect family meal!

  1. Pingback: Pickled carrot on a salicylate challenge | mindyourfeed

Leave a Reply

