Impostor ANZAC biscuits

Since tomorrow is ANZAC day, it’s cold and wet outside and my plans for today fell through, I decided to make some ANZAC biscuits that my kids can eat. I have made these a few times and each time I have tried a different cereal but I think this is the best batch so far. Admittedly they do taste a little different to the traditional Aussie favourite but these are a pretty good alternative for those who can’t have gluten, dairy or coconut.

I always find that my biscuits don’t spread, but that’s ok because I like the crunchy outside and chewy centre. I guess it makes them even less traditional but who cares if they taste good, right?

1 cup of quinoa flakes

1 cup of gluten free plain flour

3/4 cup of rice puffs

1/2 cup of brown sugar (you could use white if you prefer, I just love the rich flavour brown sugar gives)

2 tbsps of golden syrup

125 g of Nuttelex

1 tbsp of boiling water

1/2 tsp of bicarb soda

Preheat oven to 150 ° C. Place all the dry ingredients into a mixing bowl and mix well. In a small saucepan, melt the butter and golden syrup together, over low heat. Mix the water and bicarb together and quickly stir into the Nuttelex and golden syrup then add to the dry ingredients and mix well. Line 2 baking trays with baking paper then place tablespoonfuls of the mixture onto the trays and bake for 20 minutes. Allow to cool slightly on the trays before removing. You may find that the mixture is a little crumbly so just press into shape as you place spoonfuls on the trays.

My afternoon tea

2 thoughts on “Impostor ANZAC biscuits

  1. Pingback: A Mad Hatter’s Tea Party with rhubarb cupcakes and lactose free ice-cream cake « mindyourfeed

  2. Pingback: Road tripping with food intolerances | mindyourfeed

Leave a Reply

