Perfect Zucchini soup

There’s nothing like soup on a cold day! I used to make a delicious zucchini soup, rich with cream and fragrant with tarragon but now I can’t feed that  to the kids 😦 I even thought that zucchini was a no no altogether but I recently found out that they are ok in moderation as long as they are peeled so I was very enthused to try my hand at a “friendly” zucchini soup. I tried it out for the first time when our overseas guests were here and it got the thumbs up…in fact I was told that it was “perfect”, hence the name. When I told the boys that I was making zucchini soup for dinner, they were both rather excited…but was it the soup or the home made gluten free bread they were excited about???

8 medium zucchinis, peeled and roughly chopped

1 leek, sliced

4 cloves of garlic roughly chopped

2 1/2 litres of chicken stock

Good pinch of saffron

salt to taste

oil for sauteeing

Over high heat, heat a little oil in a large saucepan. Sautee the leek until just tender than add the garlic and zucchini.Reduce heat and cook for about 10 minutes, stirring regularly to avoid browning. Add the stock and saffron, turn up the heat and bring to the boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer until the zucchinis look a bit mushy. Remove from heat and blend until smooth and creamy then season to taste.

Leave a Reply

