Maple crackles

Ahh, a morning where I don’t have to rush around and be places or do loads of houswifey stuff. I felt a little energised at the thought of it all so I threw on some clothes (no time for a shower) and walked the kids to school (something I very rarely do) then stopped at the shops to get what I need for dinner…we’re having a chicken bake. After getting back home, I showered, ate brekky, popped on a load of washing to make the most of what I expect will be the last warmish day until spring and suddenly felt at a loose end. What to do with my time? I decided to bake, but since I have an optometrist appointment at 2 and a baby to deal with as well, it had to be something quick and simple. But what? Ah, I have birthday season biting at my heels and I need to come up with some kid friendly party food. Remembering my childhood, I took 2 old classics and came up with my very own “new classic”. I can’t wait for the kids to get home and try them, I think they’ll love them, I certainly did! Actually, I might even pop 2 doors up and try them out on a pre-schooler in the meantime, unless of course I end up eating them all.

4 cups of rice puffs

50 grams of nuttelex

2 tbsp of maple syrup

2 tbsp of brown sugar

Heat oven to 150° C and then line a muffin or cupcake tray with patty pans. Place nuttelex, maple syrup and sugar in a small saucepan and heat over low heat until melted and bubbly. Pour over the rice puffs and stir thoroughly. Quickly spoon into prepared pans then bake for 10 minutes. Remove from tray and allow to cool completely on a wire rack.

 

One thought on “Maple crackles

  1. Pingback: A Mad Hatter’s Tea Party with rhubarb cupcakes and lactose free ice-cream cake « mindyourfeed

Leave a Reply

