Gluten free dim sims

As it turns out, I am pregnant again (with number 4, am I crazy?!) and craving dim sims. I am going through them like they’re going out of fashion, additives, preservatives, msg and all. The ingredients list on the packet had me disgusted in myself but oh well, I just keep eating them. This of course inspired me to try my hand at making some that are a little healthier and that the kids might be able to eat as well. I even decided I’d try my hand at making the wrappers myself and to my surprise, the whole process was really easy. I found a recipe for the wrappers (that I adapted slightly of course) but the rest I totally winged.

GF wrappers

1 cup of gluten free plain flour

1/2 tsp of xanthan gum

1/4 tsp of salt

1 whole egg and1 egg white lightly beaten together

4 tbsp of water

extra flour for kneading and rolling

Mix the flour, salt and gum together then add the eggs and water and mix into a dough. The dough should be sticky and stiff but if it’s a little too dry still, add some more water a tablespoon at a time and if it’s a little too wet, add a sprinkle of flour. Turn out onto a floured board and knead until smooth. Cut dough in half, sprinkle with flour and roll out to no more than 2mm and cut into desired shape and size. Re-knead any offcuts and roll again.

  Dim Sim mix

500 g of mince (I used chicken)

1 can of bamboo shoots

6 – 8 spring onions (white and green part) roughly chopped

3 cups of cabbage, roughly chopped

1 clove crushed garlic

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp of citric acid

Place bamboo shoots, cabbage, spring onions and garlic into food processor and pulse until finely chopped. Add ll ingredients to the mince and using your hands, mix until well combined.

Assembly

Dampen the edges of the wrappers with a little water. Place spoonfuls into the centre then fold the corners up, pressing the edges together as you go, then flatten those little corners against the dim sim using a little water to stick. Steam for about 10 minutes, deep fry until golden or brush with a little oil and bake at 180° C until cooked through. Admittedly I haven’t baked any yet so I can’t give times, sorry.

What I didn’t cook up tonight, I have frozen in batches ready for quick snacks during the week.

Dough ready to roll

All rolled and ready to wrap

All wrapped up and ready to rock and roll

10 thoughts on “Gluten free dim sims

    • The citric acid just gives the mince a slight acidity. If I was making dim sims for people without food intolerances I would add things like soy sauce and rice wine vinegar for added flavour. You could leave the citric acid out if you like but in my opinion, they’d be lacking in acidity. I hope this helps 🙂

  1. I made these using psyllium husk as an egg replacer. They turned out great! I also used Tamari instead of the citric acid. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!!

  2. I was diagnosed with coeliac disease earlier this year and used to love the odd dim sim as a treat! One of my fav things so was disappointed when I realise so couldn’t have then anymore! I will definitely try this recipe it looks great! Thank you! Glad to have stumbled across your page!

  3. Hi I have mountable food allergy’s for for yrs now and have mist dim sims and spring rolls, I cant wait to try them, I made spring rolls with rice paper, they where nice enough, but to thin and broke very easy when fried.

  4. Thank you for such a fantastic recipe. My son is LOVING your wrappers for Dim Sims & Spring rolls : He just ate 10x in one sitting…and he’s only 5!!

Leave a Reply

