A replacement for tomato sauce??

My middle son loves rhubarb and fortunately it is one of the few things he reacts to. I am forever trying to come up with new condiments to use in cooking but had never thought of rhubarb chutney until I was watching “Great British Food Revival” on Foxtel last week. Gregg Wallace did a segment on rhubarb and showed us how to make a spiced rhubarb chutney. I got excited and inspired, although I couldn’t even think of using the spices if my son was going to be eating it.

I got motivated yesterday afternoon and busied myself in the kitchen. I wasn’t at all sure how it would turn out and, like with so many things I experiment with, I worried that it would be a complete flop and no-one in the family would like it. After it had been simmering for about 30 minutes, I decided I’d better taste it…it was good. A real sweet and sour combination that I imagined would go well with a number of things and I could also use it as a marinade 0r perhaps even a replacement for tomato sauce or tinned tomatoes! Still not convinced on that one so I will be giving it a go next week….stay tuned šŸ˜‰

Rhubarb and choko chutney

10 thick stalks of rhubarb roughly chopped

2 chokoes, diced into approximately 1/2cm cubes (peeled of course)

3-4 medium to large shallots finely diced

1 tbsp of very finely chopped garlic

3 tbsp of brown sugar

2 tsp of salt

1 tsp of citric acid

1/4 tsp of saffron

1 cup of water

Place all ingredients into a medium saucepan and bring to the boil. Reduce heat and simmer for an hour and a half, stirring frequently to avoid burning and sticking. While still hot, spoon into sterilized jars. It should keep in the cupboard for a few months. Alternatively, store in airtight containers in the fridge or freezer.

Leave a Reply

