Rice echidnas

It’s Sunday afternoon and I needed to make some stuff to freeze for the kids’ lunches.  I wanted something a little different but easy and delicious, so on went my thinking cap and out came the idea of rice balls. I’ve never made anything like them before, nor have I ever seen a recipe for them so I just had to wing it. As I was rolling them into lovely little ball shapes, I realised that lovely little ball shapes was not going to happen and I discovered that using a damp soup spoon and a wet hand worked better to form a spheroid shape, but they certainly didn’t look like balls. So what could I call them then???? Spheroidal rice? Rice spheres? Rice globules? Nah, they all sounded boring or like some form of drug or disease. Once they were cooked they reminded me of little animals for some reason and because they are kind of spiky, rice echidnas seemed to fit….and the kids loved it!

3 cups of uncooked rice

1/2 tsp of saffron

1 tsp of salt

2 cloves of crushed garlic

1 bunch of spring onions finely sliced

1 tbsp of chopped chives

250g of ricotta

1/2 tsp of salt

2 eggs lightly beaten

 

Cook the rice with the saffron, garlic and 1 teaspoon of salt. I use a rice cooker to make my life that little bit easier. Allow to cool for just a few minutes then stir through the spring onions and chives then the ricotta and salt and mix well. Allow to cool to at least lukewarm then add the beaten egg and stir until well combined. Using a damp soup spoon and a wet hand, press mixture onto the spoon using the wet hand then slide carefully onto a baking tray that is lined with baking paper (saves washing up). Bake at 180°C for 30 minutes or until very lightly browned. Remove to wire rack and allow to cool.

A pile of echidnas cooling on the bench

Close up of the little critters

 

 

6 thoughts on “Rice echidnas

  1. Looks great. I made plain rice balls with salt once, yummy, but I did think of trying it with similar ingredients to you. Might try tomorrow!

    • Hahaha, funny you should mention that, I thought they’d be great appetisers or canapes too…served with a dollop of chutney or sweet chilli sauce. Oh, or sour cream, guacamole….mmmm, I’m drooling now :o)

  2. Pingback: Frittata Muffins « mindyourfeed

  3. Pingback: Goodness, gracious, grrreat balls of rice! | mindyourfeed

Leave a Reply

