Frittata Muffins

Sunday’s school lunch cook up continues. I had grand plans to bake cookies and everything but all I managed was the rice echidnas and these little eggy treats. I do try to have left overs from dinner for the boys to take for lunch, but that isn’t always possible. They get bored with rice cakes and veggie sticks and so the hell would I! I got bored with sandwiches at school and I could have pretty much whatever I wanted on them so I can only imagine what it’s like for my guys.

These little frittatas can be made with almost any veggies you like….grated zucchini, swede, pumpkin, just to name a few, and you could add whatever cheese you like, or leave it out completely. I use ricotta because my middle son only tolerates fresh cheeses and let’s face it, ricotta is YUM! If you wanted to make a family sized frittata, you could simply pour the same mixture into a large pie dish or baking tray and cook until set, which I find usually takes between 45 minutes and an hour. Certainly not a true frittata, as they are started on the stove top, but just as good.

I must also tell you that I bought my very first lot of silicone bake ware yesterday (yes yes, I know, I’m a little behind the times) and knowing nothing about how to use them, I wasted my time greasing each little muffin hole, only to discover (thanks to the little spillage on the top of the tray) that I didn’t have to at all. I used to use regular, supposedly non stick muffin trays but always found that no matter how much I greased them , the frittatas would stick dreadfully. I also tried lining the trays with muffin cases but the kids complained that it was really difficult to get the frittatas out of these too, hence my purchase of silicone ones.

12 eggs lightly beaten

3 medium potatoes (juice squeezed out) or the equivalent amount of any other veggie

2 – 3 tbsp of chopped fresh chives

1 tsp of salt

ricotta (or about a cup of grated cheese)

Pre heat oven to 180° C. Place all ingredients, except the ricotta, into a jug and mix well. If using regular grated cheese, add that to the mix too if you like. Half fill each muffin hole with the mix then crumble in a few smallish pieces of ricotta (or sprinkle in a little grated cheese) then top up with more egg mix. Don’t overfill as they will spill over in the oven, try to leave about a 1cm gap. Bake in the oven for about 20 minutes or until set. I found in the silicone that they came away from the sides once they were cooked through. allow to cool for just a few minutes in the muffin trays before turning onto a wire rack to cool completely. I then bag them up into zip lock snack bags and freeze them.

A pile of eggy goodness

Leave a Reply

