Rhubarb ketchup…Rhubarto Sauce…a better replacement for tomato sauce whatever we call it

A couple of weeks back I made a rhubarb and choko chutney. The kids loved it but my other half didn’t, it was too sweet for him. I was lucky enough to score a bunch of fresh homegrown rhubarb recently so decided to have another bash, only this time with no sugar, using just pear as the sweetener. Well I think I have had a triumph in the kitchen!

My motivation for today’s chutney fest was the promise of a lasagne for dinner tonight. My big guys are off to their father’s tomorrow for the first week of school holidays so tonight, as they say, is their last decent meal for a week. I always try to make something a little special the night before they go. I decided to be very organised today and the lasagne is already assembled and ready to cover with foil and pop in the oven at about 5. This way I can spend some time with the kids instead of slaving over a hot stove…..and here I am blogging? That’s ok, they like to sit with me and read as I type. I’ll be posting about the lasagne tomorrow if it is a success but I can tell you now that the meat sauce I made for it was and this new abridged chutney is the perfect tomato replacement.

So what do I call it? Rhubarb ketchup? Rhubarto sauce? Whatever tickles your fancy.

1 bunch of rhubarb (about 10 stalks)

2 pears peeled and diced

2 large shallots finely diced

3 cloves of garlic, crushed

1 large stalk of celery, chopped finely

1 tsp of salt

1/2 tsp of citric acid

1 1/2 cups of water

About 1/2 teaspoon of saffron

1 tbsp of oil

Heat oil in a saucepan over low heat then sweat the shallots, celery and garlic until tender. Throw in the rhubarb and pear and mix well. Add the remaining ingredients and bring to the boil. Reduce heat and simmer until reduced and thick (about 1 hour), stirring regularly to prevent sticking. Store in sterilised jars.

This is how much saffron I added.

 

 

One thought on “Rhubarb ketchup…Rhubarto Sauce…a better replacement for tomato sauce whatever we call it

  1. Pingback: Gluten and tomato free lasagne « mindyourfeed

Leave a Reply

