Road tripping with food intolerances

Tomorrow we are off on a little road trip, just for 3 nights but it’s better than nothing. Ideally I’d love to be going away for a couple of weeks or more, but beggars can’t be choosers. Heading away always poses issues with food. I don’t want to have to cook every night nor do I want to be frantically making lunches in the motel before we head out for the day. So what is a woman supposed to do? Ignore the fact that there are food intolerances and let the kids eat whatever they want? And then what? Have the holiday ruined by stomach upsets, headaches and really bad behaviour? I think not!! A woman is to spend the day before in the kitchen cooking up a few things to take.

We decided that dinners can be at the local pub as there are usually a couple of options that are ok for the kids, or there is always take away fish and chips, providing the chips aren’t full of crap. We’re going down the coast so fresh fish shouldn’t be a problem. It’s really lunches that are the big issue. We can’t do sandwiches as we are gluten free so that really narrows down our options. The food also has to transport well in an esky and be easy enough for little hands to manage on the go. Oh god, and then there’s snacks! I remember growing up and heading away every year for a big 4 week road trip with the family. We’d snack on lollies and chips until we were sick! Every now and then we’d stock up on some fresh fruit, which caused it’s own problems when someone over indulged and ended up with dreadful wind! I shan’t name anyone, big bro! One trip we had to ban him from eating apples and if I remember correctly, we almost made him walk….the can of air freshener just wasn’t cutting it…but he certainly was!

Anyway, I digress. I’ve spent the week thinking about what to prepare for our little trip and this is what I came up with. Frittata muffins, nibbly no-nuts, some cookies, bean salad, fried rice and perhaps a coleslaw. I think that should be plenty. And in true Schana style, I spent the day experimenting with different ideas I’ve had floating around in my head. Yes I know, silly time to be doing that in case everything goes horrible wrong and I’m up until midnight making everything again but hey, I like living on the edge, after all, it’s the only excitement I have left in life.

Sweet potato frittata muffins

6 eggs

200g ricotta

1 medium sweet potato grated

2 large spring onions chopped finely (about half a cup all up)

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp saffron

In a mortar and pestle, grind the salt and saffron until the saffron is, shall we say, pulverised.

This is about 1/2 a teaspoon. Count the strands if it helps ;o)

Saffron salt!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In a food processor, beat the eggs and ricotta with the saffron salt until smooth. Add the sweet potato and onions and blend on low until well combined. Spoon into muffin trays (preferably silicon as they won’t stick….they always stick in regular, supposedly non-stick trays even if well greased) and bake at 180°C for 15 to 20 minutes or until they come away from the sides of the pan.

Savoury saffron nibbly no-nuts

I came up with cereal snacks a while ago, sweet ones and sweet and sour. The kids loved them but I wasn’t the biggest fan so I decided to try some savoury ones. One kid loved them, the other not so much. Surprisingly, my other half loves them too and so does bubs (who just can’t get enough of them).

3 cups of breakfast cereal ( this time I used millet rings)

1 tsp of salt

1/2 tsp of saffron

1 tsp garlic powder

3 tbsp of oil

Pre heat oven to 120°C. Grind the saffron and salt in a mortar and pestle (see photos above). Place all ingredients in a mixing bowl and mix until cereal is well coated. Place on baking sheet in a single layer and bake for about 20 minutes or until golden. Allow to cool and store in an airtight container.

 

Carob kibble and cashew cookies

These are a spin on my impostor ANZAC biscuits. The kids have been asking for some sort of “choc chip” cookie for a while but I have been unable to find any suitable carob buttons to use. Whilst walking around our local health food shop a couple of weeks ago, I found carob kibble and thought this could work.

1 cup quinoa flakes

1/2 cup of carob kibble, chopped

1/2 cup of raw cashews, chopped

1 cup gluten free flour

125g nuttelex or butter

1/2 cup of brown sugar

2 tbsp of golden syrup

1 tbsp boiling water

1/2 tsp bicarb soda

Preheat oven to 150°C. Mix quinoa flakes, flour, sugar, kibble and cashews in a bowl. Over low heat, melt the nuttelex or butter and golden syrup together. Working quickly, stir the bicarb into the boiling water, add to the melted butter mix then stir through the dry ingredients. At this point I found the mixture to be far too dry so I added 2 tablespoons of rice bran oil and mixed well. Place spoonfuls onto baking trays (I found that using a soup spoon and pressing the dough onto it then sliding carefully onto greased trays worked best). Bake for 20 minutes then allow to cool on trays for a few minutes before removing to wire racks to cool fully.

Carob kibble before and after chopping

 

 

Voila, the finished product

3 thoughts on “Road tripping with food intolerances

  1. Pingback: Pizzas…again | mindyourfeed

Leave a Reply

