Oh the nightmare of school holidays…and a little creative genius

Oh dear, what a week! The big guys spent last week at their father’s place and when they came home, number 2 was a bit of a mess. Their father had fed them fish and chip shop chips (which are usually full of nasties) on Thursday night and processed, frozen nuggets for lunch just before they came home Friday. I certainly wasn’t happy, especially given that we were heading away the very next morning. Not a lot I could do about it so a quick bi-carb drink to help detox him was thrown down his throat and I hoped for the best. Well I guess you can imagine what’s coming next…..yes, a week later, he is finally settling down. The week has been hell!

Wednesday afternoon I had a meltdown, I had just had enough of dealing with everything. I was sick to death of seeing my middle son being so violent towards my oldest son for no reason, and his lies…oh his lies!! Something just isn’t right. It became even more clear to me that diet alone isn’t enough for this kid, so now, a lot sooner than I had planned,  we are going down the path of biomedicine. Fortunately I was able to get an appointment with someone as early as next Thursday…thank goodness, I’m at my wits end! So in the meantime, we’ve decided to really cut back with his diet and get strict….really strict. No red meat, no dairy (not even lactose free), minimal sugar and all fruit and veggies will be only low in amines, salicylates and glutamates (the naturally occurring chemicals in food). I have to do something to feel as though I’m doing all that I can….does that make sense? I need to gain some level of control over the situation, no matter how small and seemingly insignificant.

And now family meals become even more of an issue. I live in a house full of carnivores…I was once vegetarian and red meat is certainly not a big part of my diet but I have been able to adapt. They have meat and I’ll have chicken, fish or just the veggies. Well now I have to think about an extra mouth when the others have their much “needed” red meat…and this extra mouth eats a lot! He seems to have hollow legs and his meals are often bigger than mine…I’m a 6 foot tall Amazon and he’s an 8 year old toothpick! I now have to make sure his meals are adequately protein balanced so fortunately, unlike his big bro, he isn’t soy intolerant and he LOVES beans.

So onto my creative genius. In all my years of eating so little meat (or full blown vegetarianism) I had never thought to make tofu patties or burgers. I have made many veggie patties and burgers but never once thought to add tofu….and I love the stuff. Why have I never thought of this before? I have no idea. Anyway, I decided for something a little different that I would make some tofu patties to throw on the barbie while the other 2 had their carnivorous :delights”. I think this came out of laziness really…I couldn’t be bothered peeling some veggies to shred for veggie patties, besides, he can’t have all the yummy veggies that make veggie patties worthwhile. I thought that mashing silken tofu would be much easier. Oh and it was but the clean up afterwards was a little sticky, but it was well worth it, my patties were a triumph! Well I think so and so did bubs, who really got stuck into the “raw” mix and then had a little plate of his own once the patties were cooked. And then there was my “lazy potato salad”. According to my partner, it was the best potato salad I have ever made, in fact it was about the best potato salad he has ever had…big words for a potato loving carnivore!

I ate my tofu patties with a little chilli jam that I bought form the supermarket and my middle son had his with pear sauce.

T’riffic tofu patties

600g of silken tofu

6 spring onions including the greens, chopped

1/2 cup chopped celery

1 large clove of crushed garlic

1 1/2 cups of crumbs ( I used multigrain crumbs with quinoa but you could use just rice crumbs or bread crumbs if gluten isn’t an issue)

1 tsp of salt (or to taste)

1/2 tsp citric acid

1 tbsp of chopped fresh parsley

Extra crumbs for rolling

Place all ingredients into a food processor and blend until quite smooth. Taste the mix and add more seasoning as required. With wet hands, roll into balls and coat in extra crumbs. Cook in a frying pan with a little oil, over medium to high heat, or on the hotplate of the bbq in a little oil until golden on both sides.

Lazy potato salad

The mood I was in yesterday afternoon, I really couldn’t be bothered making mayonnaise for the potato salad. I had every intention of doing so earlier in the day but when it came to the crunch, it just simply wasn’t going to happen. So I had an epiphany….garlic and saffron infused oil!

Dressing

1/2 cup of canola oil

2 large cloves of garlic cut into about 3 pieces each

1/2 tsp of saffron

Place all ingredients in a small saucepan and gently heat over low heat until the garlic is slightly golden. Remove from heat and set aside to cool and infuse some more.

Potato salad

6 – 8 medium to large potatoes, diced

2 cloves garlic crushed

2 tsps of salt

6 hard boiled eggs, diced

6 spring onions finely sliced (including greens)

1/2 tsp citric acid (or to taste)

salt to taste

Boil the potatoes with the garlic and 2 teaspoons of salt until just tender. Don’t overcook them or they will go mushy. A little firmness is ideal as they will continue to cook once drained. Drain and run under cold water.
Place cooled potatoes, eggs and spring onions into a bowl. Remove the garlic from the oil and chop finely then add to the bowl. Stir the salt and citric acid into the oil and pour over the salad, mixing well to combine all ingredients and coat everything with the oil. Taste and add more salt and/or citric acid as required.

With a side of char grilled choko

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

