Loads of leftover rice and a weekend brekky treat

We had chicken and rice for dinner on Friday night and I cooked up WAY too much rice. I had thought that a fried rice for dinner on Saturday might be nice but it seemed I was the only one who thought this as the others all wanted seafood…and who could blame them really? So what was one to do with all that leftover rice???

On weekends, only because I have the time, I like to make something a little interesting for breakfast. Depending on time and botheration factor, I sometimes make gluten free waffles but they take soooo long and are really a little messy. Other times it’s fried eggs or omelets…I did say a little interesting, certainly no culinary triumphs early in the morning in this house…..I’m NOT a morning person at all! With all the rice I had in the fridge, I decided I should do something with that. I thought about the good old fashioned rice with milk and sugar until I remembered that we have taken my middle son off dairy for a while to see if this helps with some of the issues we have been having with him. So eggy fried rice it was…and this certainly was a culinary triumph and so simple too!! It was so good (and I still had heaps of rice left) that we had it for brekky again on Sunday.

Eggy fried rice (serves 2)

2 cups cooked rice

2 eggs

1 – 2 cloves crushed garlic (depending on your taste)

1/2 – 1 tsp salt, to taste

oil for frying

Heat oil in a frying pan over medium heat and toss in the garlic and cook for a minute then add the rice and salt. Cook until all the lumps are broken up and the rice is starting to “pop”. Crack in the eggs then stir until cooked. Yes. it’s that simple and the kids LOVED it….so did I!

Leave a Reply

