Super simple pear and maple sorbet

My ice cream maker would have to be about the best investment for my kitchen to date. With all these individual food intolerances in the family, I can’t just go out and buy a tub of ice cream that everyone can share. In fact, I can’t go out and buy a tub of ice cream for any of us to eat individually either…oh no wait, there are a couple of commercial sorbets that a couple of us can eat but they never taste as good as anything home made, they’re just a little less labour intensive, which, when you spend so much time making most things from scratch, can often make things taste better.

I’m forever trying to find ways of making my job in the kitchen less time consuming and a lot more simple. Now, I do love frozen desserts but I find it challenging to find the time and botheration factor to do so. I have been known to make the base for an ice cream, put it in the fridge to chill and then either forget about it or not find the time to put it in my whiz bang ice cream machine…then I feel as though I have wasted so much time and energy. I need simple solutions to this and the other night I had an epiphany! But that only solves the dilemma for one type of frozen dessert. Oh well, it’s better than nothing.

1 large can (about 825g) of pears in syrup (not juice, it needs to be syrup)

2 tbsp maple syrup

1/2 cup of soda water

Empty the can of pears (syrup and all) into the food processor along with the maple syrup. Puree until smooth. Tip the puree and the soda water into your ice cream maker and turn it on. Yes, it’s that simple! You’ll need to churn it until it looks a bit like mashed potato. It took about 6o minutes in my whiz bang machine. Store in the freezer, obviously….if it lasts that long!

One thought on “Super simple pear and maple sorbet

  1. Pingback: Peachy keen frozen dessert | mindyourfeed

Leave a Reply

