Still challenging and chicken “koftas”

The salicylates challenge continued but I think it’s a big fat fail. Well not totally. After 6 days my middle son’s behaviour became a little out of control once again. He was whingy, whiny, obstinent and rude, all topped off with some incredibly toxic, shall we say, wind. You know the type, the ones that make you gag and run for the door! Unbearable!!! So I have concluded that he can tolerate high levels of salicylates for about 3 days before he starts heading slowly down hill, before the big crash. That means we can probably have a sals loaded meal once a week, or can go out for dinner without so much stress about what he can eat 🙂 Since I had planned the weekend meals ahead of time, I persisted with the high levels of salicylates in our food and decided to start afresh Monday morning (that’s today). So back to “beige” food for a week or so, maybe more but hopefully less, to detox his poor little system before we challenge red meat.

Saturday night’s dinner was to be koftas. “Hubby” wanted lamb ones but my middle son is red meat free at the moment so I had to make up 2 batches, one with chicken. I guess technically I can’t call them koftas because they are traditionally made of lamb, but hey, there’s nothing traditional about this family so chicken koftas it is!

Now, in this house, there is no exact science for making burgers and koftas but they always come out splendidly, if I may say so myself, so what I have written is really just a guide and you could use any herbs and spices you like and shape them any which way you like and therefore call them anything you wish…meat patties, chicken balls, burgers….

With the chicken ones, I find that thigh mince produces the best results. Breast mince is really lean and therefore produces a very dry result. If I use beef mince, I find that the lean stuff is the best, otherwise you have to double the amount of crumbs you use to help soak up the fat, resulting in a less meaty patty. However, I have never seen a choice in leanness for lamb mince, nor have I ever had an issue with it being too fatty for some reason.

Chicken koftas

1 kg of chicken thigh mince

1 medium onion finely diced

2 cloves of crushed garlic

2 eggs

2 tsp of paprika

2 tsp of salt

grind of black pepper

1 tbsp of fresh sage

1 tbsp of fresh tarragon

4 rice cakes, whizzed in the food processor to form crumbs

Place all ingredients in a bowl and, using clean hands, mix really well. (If, unlike me, you have a realllllly good food processor, you could whiz it all up in there. I tried it with a second batch, to try and make job a little easier but it bacame very apparent that I need a new processor….a realllllly good one this time.) Roll into…..now how do I describe the shape? Elongated balls? Fat, rounded sausages? Of course, in all the meltdown mess of the salicylate reaction in my son, I forgot to take photos 😦 Cook in a hot pan with a little oil, or on the barbecue, until cooked through.

Lamb koftas

1 kg of lamb mince

1 medium onion finely diced

2 cloves of crushed garlic

2 eggs

4 rice cakes, crushed to crumbs

2 – 3 tbsp of your favourite Middle Eastern seasoning (or 2 tsps cumin, 2 tsps coriander, 2 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsp cayenne)

1 tbsp fresh, chopped rosemary

1 tbsp fresh, chopped oregano

2 tsp of salt

grind of black pepper

Follow the same method as for the recipe above and cook in the same manner. If you want to spice things up a little, add some extra cayenne or some fresh or dried chilli.

 

 

Leave a Reply

