I did it! I did it!! Home made gluten free pasta!

Since going gluten free, I have really missed the silky, soft, delicious pasta I used to make. You really can’t beat home made pasta. I have been thinking about this for ages and finally felt motivated and inspired enough to give it a try today.

Passing it through my pasta machine was a bit of a challenge, but with perseverance and sheer determination I managed to get some lovely strands of fettuccine…and it was well worth the effort too. Ok, it’s not as amazingly wonderful as regular glutenous pasta but when you have no choice and must be gluten free then this is a fantastic compromise and I’m here to tell you that I’ll definitely be doing it again. I think my next challenge will be to come up with gluten free gnocchi….ohhh, I’m drooling at the thought.

So back to my pasta…..the dough is a lot more fragile than regular glutenous pasta so you’ll need to work in smaller batches and not make the strands of fettuccine (or spaghetti if you prefer) shorter than you normally would and you certainly can’t roll it as thinly as regular pasta. I found that number 3 on my machine was as thin as I could go, when I used to go right up to number 6 or 7 for wheat based pasta. If you don’t have the luxury of a pasta machine, you can still make it, just roll out between 2 sheets of baking paper then cut into strands as wide as you desire. Make sure that you roll the dough as thinly as possible first though otherwise you may just end up with a stodgy mess once cooked.

Once made, you can store in the fridge for a few days or even freeze it. This quantity makes 500 grams

3/4 cup of rice flour

1/2 cup of tapioca flour (or arrowroot)

1/4 cup of besan flour (chickpea/gram flour)

1/4 cup of quinoa flour

1/2 tsp of xanthan gum

3 large eggs (I used 700g eggs)

1/2 tsp of salt

water

Mix all the dry ingredients together. Now, you can do this straight onto the bench or in a large bowl then turn out for kneading, make a well in the centre of the flour, crack in the eggs and mix to form a dough, adding a little water if the dough is too dry or a little extra rice flour if too wet. Knead into a smooth ball, wrap in plastic wrap and rest for 30 minutes. Cut into 8 pieces (for easier handling) then roll out each piece individually to make your pasta, but keep the remaining dough well wrapped to ensure it doesn’t dry out. Use an extra sprinkling of rice flour if the dough gets sticky while rolling and when you’ve cut your pasta ribbons, coat in rice flour to prevent the strands sticking together. Store in the fridge until you’re ready to use. To cook, bring a large pot of water to the boil then add the pasta and a little salt. Cook for about 3 minutes or until just tender. Drain and top with your favourite sauce.

Little nest of eggs

Nice smooth ball of dough

First few rolls of the dough

My pretty ribbons

The finished product with yummy mussels

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

