Yummy strawberry compote

Well the salicylates challenge is finished and I had a lot of strawberries left over that were slowly getting a little long in the tooth so I decided there was only one thing to do with them…..cook em up! Luckily not all of us are on this Failsafe diet so they would get eaten one way or another, but not if they went off completely.

For breakfast yesterday I fancied some muesli with yoghurt and strawberries so I got busy cooking up my little jewels of yumminess. And oh were they yummy…bubs devoured what was left, ruining my morning snack 😦 So now I’m addicted and will be buying strawberries on a regular basis just to make this little treat. Perhaps it will take over my pregnant Mars bar cravings…my waistline can only hope 🙂

500g of strawberries cut into quarters (smaller if they’re big berries)

2 tbsp of brown sugar

1 tsp of vanilla

Place all ingredients into a saucepan and cook over low heat until soft and syrup, stirring occasionally. Eat warm or cold…YUM!

Mmmm, look at that syrupy goodness *drool*

2 thoughts on “Yummy strawberry compote

Leave a Reply

