Fishy fingers with special seafood mocktail sauce

Oh dear, the warm weather is upon us and I’m not liking it one little bit this year! I’m dreading the full swing of summer! Although one bonus of this weather is the lack of “cooking” I can get away with because salads are just perfect in this heat.

We pulled out our trusty kitchen sprouter last week and got sprouting. It didn’t take long before we had sprouts ready to use so this week has been full of sprouty salads…so much more interesting than a basic coleslaw or green salad. I just love the crunch the sprouts give, not to mention the taste. And what accompanies a salad better than a little seafood? Not much at all! So I decided to give the kids a little treat and make some fish fingers, gluten free of course 🙂

Oh but I didn’t stop there! Yes, I was dying from the heat but after turning on the cooling, I cooled off, got motivated and made special sauces to dip our fishy fingers into and to dress our sprouty salad with. So the dinner menu read a little like this…Fishy fingers with special seafood mocktail sauce accompanied by a sprouty rainbow salad with creamy dresssing. Yum? I’ll say!!

So, the sauces. I recently saw a recipe on another Failsafe blog, “Failsafe Foodie”, for Magic Sauce. I was intrigued and wanted to give it a go, so I did last night. Only problem was I was missing one ingredient, and the final product was way too sweet for my palate, so with a few little tweaks, I came up with my own, slightly less sweet version and I shall call this….hmmmmm….sticky sauce, perhaps. Yep, that will do for now. The other “sauce” was actually my regular whole egg garlic mayonnaise. Then I had an epiphany! What if I mix the 2 sauces together? That could be YUM! Well, guess what? It was delicious! Oh, and perfect for dipping our seafood morsels into, so it became known as our “special seafood mocktail sauce”. All I did was place a couple of tablespoons of mayo into a little dish then add sticky sauce to taste, which was about 2 to 3 teaspoons for me, and mix well.

Fishy Fingers

1kg of firm white fish (I used gummy shark because it was well priced)

2 eggs beaten lightly

gluten free plain flour (or rice flour)

1 tsp of salt

1/2 tsp of citric acid (optional)

Rice crumbs (I use a mix of quinoa and rice)

Cut the fish fillets into finger sized pieces, working across the grain (you could get your fishmonger to do this for you to save you some time). Mix the flour, salt and citric acid together then roll the fish pieces in it, shaking off any excess. Dip into the egg then coat well in the crumbs. Pan fry over medium to high heat, in a little oil, until cooked through. Yep, that simple.

Sticky Sauce

1/2 cup of golden syrup

1/4 cup of gin

1/2 cup of pear juice

2 to 3 tsp of salt (or to taste)

1 tsp of citric acid (or to taste)

3 tsp of carob syrup

1 tsp of tapioca starch

Place golden syrup, gin, pear juice, 2 teaspoons of the carob syrup, salt and citric acid into a saucepan and bring to the boil. Simmer for about 5 minutes. Mix remaining carob syrup with the tapioca starch then add to the pot, stirring well. Simmer until thick and shiny. Allow to cool. For a little extra something, which would be perfect in a stir fry, add a clove of crushed garlic at the beginning.

Sprouty Rainbow Salad

Ok, so there are no exact measurements for this, like any salad really, just whatever looks good.

Red cabbage shredded (I have never understood why this stuff is called red, it’s purple!)

Wombok (Chinese cabbage) shredded

Spring onions finely sliced on the diagonal

Lots of delicious sprouts. I used mung bean and French lentil sprouts

Celery leaf (preferably home grown as it has a real pepperiness) roughly chopped (or parsley if you prefer)

Whole egg garlic mayonnaise

Whack everything in a bowl and mix well.

Special Seafood Mocktail Sauce

2 tbsp of mayonnaise

2 to 3 tsp of sticky sauce

Place in a little dish and mix well. Of course if you need more sauce than that, double/triple the quantities 🙂

Sticky sauce on the left and seafood mocktail on the right

The finished dish

2 thoughts on “Fishy fingers with special seafood mocktail sauce

  1. Pingback: The kids’ school concert and a creamy pasta salad | mindyourfeed

  2. Pingback: Fauxbecue sauce | mindyourfeed

Leave a Reply

