Fauxbecue sauce

Yep, I’ve done it! I’ve come up with an alternative to barbecue sauce…well so I think. I was inspired by the post of a fellow Failsafe blogger last week and after giving her recipe for “magic sauce” a try, resulting in my “sticky sauce”, I was greatly inspired and decided to do a little experimenting with whiskey. Well of course the only whiskey I had in the house was not a cheap one but I didn’t let this deter me, so I cracked out the Jack Daniels Silver Edition and got busy. I’m sure this sauce would work with any whiskey, but I’ll stick to the Jack Silver until the bottle is dry…shhhhh, don’t tell “not-hubby” 😉

I tried a little while it was still warm and there was a vaguely familiar flavour, but I couldn’t pin point it, so when the boys got home from school we all tried a little, this time it had cooled completely. It was sweet with almost a smokey hint to it and we all agreed that it was in fact very reminiscent of good old barbecue sauce. A very exciting discovery indeed!

1/2 cup of whiskey

1/2 cup of rice malt syrup

1/2 cup of pear juice

2 tsp of salt (or to taste)

2 tbsp of carob syrup

1 tsp of tapioca flour (2 tsp if you want a thicker sauce)

Place whiskey, rice malt syrup, pear juice, salt and 1 tablespoon of carob syrup into a saucepan and bring to the boil. Simmer for 5 minutes. At this point, if you’re concerned about the alcohol content, set the mix alight and allow the alcohol to burn off completely. Mix the tapioca flour into the remaining carob syrup and stir through the hot sauce. Simmer a further 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Allow to cool and store in a jar in the fridge.

Tonight I’m planning on using it in some chicken mince to make a nice saucy savoury mince for the kids to have in wraps with salad but you could use it for just about anything you’d use barbecue sauce for. Stir it through some mayonnaise for something different.

8 thoughts on “Fauxbecue sauce

  1. Pingback: Hippie Stew | mindyourfeed

  2. Pingback: A very messy crab feast | mindyourfeed

  3. Pingback: FAILSAFE Basics | Journey in a Kaleidoscope

  4. Thank you so much for this.
    BBQ sauce was this BIGGEST hurdle for us. My kids still ask for it and we’ve been FS for almost 3 years. My son never liked the pear sauce or any other sauces we tried to make. This one sounds like it might be a hit!

  5. By pear juice do you mean the syrup from tinned pears or actual pear juice? And if so where do I get pear juice? Thanks, hoping this will be a very helpful recipe in our household!

    • Hi Cathra. No, not the syrup. For low salicylate, you can juice peeled pears or mash some tinned pears and strain. If the sals aren’t an issue, you can get tins of pear juice in the juice aisle of the supermarket

Leave a Reply

