Gluten free muesli slice with poppy seeds and carob kibble

Yes, I had a busy day in the kitchen yesterday! So busy in fact that whilst making this little treasure, I broke one of my most handy little gadgets, my little kitchen whizzer thingy that was perfect for herbs and nuts 😦 So my Christmas wish list of kitchen gadgets keeps getting bigger and bigger. Actually, it’s getting so long now that it’s about as long as my legs and, at 6 ft tall, that’s pretty long!

So back to the muesli slice. I wanted this to be something the kids could eat at school so had to leave out nuts, as there is a no nut policy school wide. I was planning to use the same ingredients as I did for the breakfast muesli that I also made yesterday, but decided they’d be pretty boring without the cashews, besides, I’d also run out of a couple of ingredients…so on with the thinking cap and this is what I came up with….even my 17 month old bub liked them and kept stealing from his big bros. Funny little munchkin he is.

Nb: The carob kibble and/or dried pears can be omitted, in fact I do this often, just add an extra cup of any of the dry ingredients, or even a mix. Lately I have been adding a cup of coconut which isn’t suitable for elimination but is certainly delish if tolerated. Also, if you want a gooier slice, don’t boil the sugar with the syrup and butter, add it after 5 minutes of simmering, stir to dissolve then remove from heat.

1 cup of rice puffs

1 cup of quinoa flakes

1 cup of puffed quinoa

1 cup of puffed millet

1/2 cup of poppy seeds

1/2 cup of chopped carob kibble

1/2 cup of dried pear

1/2 cup of brown sugar

125 g of butter or nuttelex

1/2 cup of golden syrup

Preheat oven to 120°C. Mix all dry ingredients, except the sugar, in a large bowl. Place sugar, golden syrup and butter or nuttelex into a small saucepan and heat over low heat until melted. Bring to the boil and simmer for about 10 minutes. Stir through the dry ingredients then press the mixture into a lined lamington tin and bake for 30 minutes (to help the baking paper stick to the tin, lightly grease the tin first). Allow to cool in the tin before removing to cool on a wire rack (leave the slice in the baking paper for easier handling). Using a serrated knife, cut into squares and store in an airtight container.

5 thoughts on “Gluten free muesli slice with poppy seeds and carob kibble

    • Thank you Brandi. The best thing about this super healthy snack is that the kids go nuts for it. I made a batch yesterday but forgot to add the dried pear…the kids didn’t even notice thankfully

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Protein Slice | mindyourfeed

  2. Hi there. Made your slice. Very tasty. Cut out the sugar which unfortunately meant my slice didn’t hold together all that well. Any alternatives that you would suggest?

    • Hi Jackie, so glad you like my slice. The only thing I can suggest for replacing the sugar is perhaps honey or rice malt syrup, but technically they’re still sugar, just not the refined cane variety. Alternatively, you could try adding an egg and some flour but the texture will change quite considerably and become more cake like. Good luck 😊

Leave a Reply

