Gluten free toasted muesli that the kids will love

I had been thinking about making some muesli for some time but never got around to it. I was taking my time collecting ingredients for it and hoping that I would one day stumble across something out of the ordinary to include. Well of course, I never did. The kids have been getting rather bored with breakfast of late so this encouraged me to get off my bum and make my muesli, I had made muesli once before but it was full of oats and other stuff that the kids can no longer eat, so I must say, I was a little concerned that this batch was going to be somewhat uninteresting to them. Nothing ventured nothing gained, I say. Well I’m pleased to say, they LOVED it. I couldn’t get them to stop eating it as an after school snack. I had to tell them there’d be none left for breakfast if they didn’t keep their fingers out!

This morning, my big guys slept in. They usually get up at “sparrow fart” but today I had to wake them. My middle guy just would not get up so, being the clever mum I am, reminded him of the wonderful muesli that awaited. I had barely finished my sentence and he was bouncing out of bed and headed straight for the kitchen.

1 1/2 cups of rice puffs

1 1/2 cups of puffed millet

1 1/2 cups of millet rings or similar

1 cup of puffed quinoa

1 cup of rice flakes

1 cup of chopped raw cashews

1/2 cup of dried pear

1/4 cup of pear juice

1 tsp of vanilla

2 tbsp of maple syrup

1 tbsp of carob syrup

Preheat oven to 120°C. Place all dry ingredients in a bowl and mix well. Combine all the wet ingredients then stir thoroughly through the dry mix. Spread the now soggy cereal onto a baking tray and bake for about 30 minutes or until quite golden (you’ll need to give it a bit of a mix a few times during the cooking process). Don’t worry if it is still a little soggy, it will crisp up as it cools. Allow to cool in the tray before storing in an airtight container.

 

 

Leave a Reply

