Oh the pain!

I’m here to tell you that pregnancy number 4 is no walk in the park! I’ve been very fortunate that I haven’t had many of the usual pregnancy issues like nausea, just a little reflux and a few cravings but nothing really strange like pickles with ice cream or dirt. Neither have I really gone off much, if anything. Coffee has been a little up and down…hated it at first because it tasted like cow poo but after a few weeks I started enjoying it again and wine….oh what a terrible affliction that was for the few weeks it lasted. It tasted like poison! Now I know you’re thinking that I shouldn’t be drinking whilst pregnant but the odd glass now and then is actually ok and some meals require a glass of wine to help wash them down…there’s nothing better. But no. I just couldn’t go there. Anyways, all that aside, this pregnancy has been pretty easy sailing except for the back pain! Oh the back pain!

It started off as just a little niggle here and there, nothing I couldn’t handle. In fact, it hardly bothered me (perhaps that’s because I’m used to back pain). But now…….at just 26 weeks, I’m starting to fear what lies ahead. If you read my last post, “Hormonal Meltdowns, Back Pain and Cook Books”, then you’d be aware that I suffer from pelvic instability or pelvic girdle pain. Over the last couple of weeks, this has really started to plague me. So I toddled off to the physio on Friday and now I’m on crutches! Yes, running around after 3 boys, 17 months, 8 and 10 years, and on crutches! How will I manage that???? I have no bloody idea! I’m no super mum but I do plan to keep cooking and inventing interesting things to eat, so cleaning will have to wait and I think meals will get quicker and simpler. See, I believe that everything happens for a reason, what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger and where there’s a will there’s a way (cliched I know but oh so true), so this new hurdle will lead me into a different world of catering for my family’s needs, thus enabling me to provide you guys with a little insight on how to smile in the face of adversity and cater simply for food intolerances….I hope 🙂 So stay tuned for more pregnant ramblings and updates on how the cookbook is coming along.

Leave a Reply

