Green Cakes of Fish

I have to be honest with you….I wasn’t going to share this recipe, instead I was going to keep it secret to include in my book, but since summer is on our doorstep and fish is such a great summer meal, I thought I’d be nice and let you in on my little secret.

Mum and dad arrived back in Australia on Sunday after 5 weeks in Europe, so they came around for dinner last night. I had promised my kids seafood for dinner since all they eat at their father’s is chicken (they’d been there all weekend) and my middle guy is off red meat, but we all have quite different tastes in fish and I wasn’t prepared to buy 4 or 5 different varieties to cater for everyone….so fish cakes it was to be, that way I could use whatever fish I liked and no-one would know the difference. I managed to get some super fresh trevally for just $17 a kilo so this dish was not only tasty but super thrifty as well. I had enough fish cakes for about 10 people so that’s around $2 a serve!

We’ve all had fish cakes made with a potato base but with my pelvis being in such a state, I needed to find an easier alternative that didn’t require me to stand and peel a bunch of potatoes…then boil, strain and mash the damn things. I remembered making salmon patties a few years ago that had a rice base so I decided to give it a try with white fish. You know, throwing a couple of cups of rice in a rice cooker is one of the easiest things to do in the kitchen! Actually, throwing a bunch of ingredients in a food processor is just as simple.

The best thing about this dish is that it is so easily adapted to suit those those who don’t have food intolerances…just take out what’s needed for the sensitive ones then add some chopped fresh dill and lemon zest to the rest. You could add any flavours you like really…chilli, lemongrass, coriander, blah, blah, blah. You could also use any fish you like. When we challenge amines, again, I’ll be making these with fresh salmon…..*drool

2 cups of cooked rice

1 kg of fresh white fish (skin removed)

1 bunch of spring onions, white and green part

1 clove of chopped garlic

1 tsp of salt

2 eggs

2 tbsp of roughly chopped parsley

rice crumbs for coating fish cakes

Oil for frying

In a food processor, blitz up the rice until it looks a little sandlike. Remove from the bowl. Blitz the spring onions and garlic until finely chopped then add the fish and parsley and whizz until the fish is minced. Mix all ingredients together, including the eggs and salt (this can also be done in the food processor, or by hand if you prefer) until really well combined. Using wet hands, roll into balls and coat in rice crumbs then flatten just slightly. Heat oil in fry pan over medium heat and cook the fish cakes until browned on both sides. Once cooked, they should fell quite firm when pressed.

Amidst all the chaos of little boys excited to see their much loved grandparents and being showered in gifts, coupled with the incredible ache in my pelvis, I didn’t get any photos of the finished dish last night. Fortunately there are leftovers, but of course they don’t look quite as fresh as they did when they were piping hot, straight from the pan last night….but you get the idea of how they’re meant to look 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Green Cakes of Fish

  1. Thanks for this recipe…I actually used it to make an adaptation! I used a small tin of pink salmon, drained well, and mixed that with one cup of rice (whizzed in thermomix), one egg and the shallots/garlic. Easy lunch for the kids and all, 11 months, 4 yrs and 10yrs gobbled them up!

Leave a Reply

