Hippie Stew

I’m starting to get thrifty with my cooking lately. I’m also cooking a few more vegetarian dishes since my middle son is off red meat…there’s only so much chicken and fish I can eat in a week…so I’m reverting back to a few of my old vegetarian ways, much to “no-hubby’s” dismay. He is a carnivore and needs his steak at least twice a week….personally I can’t stand the stuff…so he buys what he wants on his way home from work and chucks it on the barbie to have with the veggo stuff I’ve made.

I have discovered that dried legumes are ridiculously cheap at my local Indian grocer so I have gone a little mad buying huge bags of the things for just a couple of bucks each…mostly for sprouting though. Yesterday I decided to crack open the mung beans, lentils and black chickpeas I had set aside for sprouting and got a little creative. I had to giggle at the idea of soaking and cooking lentils and mung beans and kept having visions of Neil from “The Young Ones”. I was also “hearing” things from my past, “Mung beans are only for hippies”, hahaha, so I just had to call this “Hippie Stew”.

1 cup of dried mung beans

1 cup of lentils (I used green ones but you could use black or brown)

1 cup of black chickpeas (these are smaller than the regular chickpeas so cook a little faster and blend better with the 2 smaller legumes)

Water for soaking

2 cloves of garlic

1 tsp of salt

Soak the legumes in the water with the salt and garlic for a few hours. There is no need to soak overnight or for a long period, I only soaked them for about 4 hours and they were fine. Once soaked, drain and rinse ready to cook.

3 stalks of celery finely sliced

8 spring onions finely sliced (greens and whites but separate)

3 cloves garlic finely sliced (or crushed if you prefer)

2 cups of chopped cabbage

1 1/2 litres of stock

1/2 cup of fauxbecue sauce (optional)

1/2 tsp of saffron threads, ground to a powder with a little salt

Salt to taste

2 tbsp of chopped parsley

2 tbsp of chopped celery leaf

Oil for sauteeing

Heat oil in a large pot then add the celery, garlic and whites of the spring onions. Cook for a couple of minutes then add the drained and rinsed legumes, saffron and stock. Bring to the boil then reduce heat, cover and simmer for about 30 minutes, adding a little extra stock or water if it’s looking a bit dry. Add the cabbage and cook a further 10 to 15 minutes or until the legumes are tender. I like my chickpeas to have a little bit of “crunch” to them but you could cook longer if you prefer them quite soft. Just before serving, add the herbs and the greens of the spring onions and season to taste. Serve with pappadums.

 

Leave a Reply

