Goodness, gracious, grrreat balls of rice!

A few weeks ago I made a batch of rice balls with ricotta and egg in them and called them “rice echidnas“. My big guys loved them but I couldn’t even let my little fella try one because he is allergic to dairy and intolerant to egg. He is at the age where he won’t let us feed him but he can’t manage a spoon or fork on his own, so in order to get enough food into him, I have to give him finger food. I decided that I’d make up a batch of meat balls for the freezer and cook up some veggies every couple of days but then I had an epiphany! Dairy and egg free rice balls!

I had planned to buy some egg replacer when I did the groceries on the weekend but my local Safeway is so incredibly useless that they don’t stock the stuff…along with hundreds of other things I can get from Woolies up the road in the next suburb. I’ve decided that the local Safeway needs to be bulldozed because it really is a waste of space and only good for buying milk. My goodness, I can’t even get the chocolate ice cream I am craving right now…..

Sorry, I digressed. So rather annoyed and too lazy to drive to the next suburb just to buy a box of egg replacer, I was ready to give up on the rice ball idea until I remembered I had 5 chokoes sitting on my kitchen bench. I decided I’d make some choko puree and use that instead….never used choko as an egg substitute before but there’s a first time for everything. So hear they are…my grrreat balls of rice!!!

I have used spring onion and celery in mine but you could use carrot or any other veggies you like as long as they are chopped finely or grated, but make sure the quantities are similar to what I’ve used or your balls might fall apart.

1 1/2 cups of uncooked short grain rice

1 1/2 cups of quinoa (I used black quinoa but you could use any colour you like)

2 chokoes (or 2 cups of choko puree)

8 spring onions, green and white parts

1 stalk of celery, leaves and all

2 tbsp of chives finely chopped

4 tbsp of tapioca flour

1 tsp of salt (or to taste)

Rinse the quinoa well. Cook with the rice using the absorption method you would for rice (I use a rice cooker so can’t give you directions, sorry). Allow to cool. Peel and roughly chop the chokoes and boil until just tender then drain well. Once cooled slightly, puree until smooth. Preheat the oven to 150° C. Blitz the spring onions and celery in food processor until well chopped then stir through the cooked rice and quinoa, along with the chives. Stir the tapioca flour through the choko puree and add to the rice and veggies and mix well. Season to taste. Using a soup spoon (I find this to be the ideal size) roll the mixture into balls then place onto baking sheets lined with baking paper (saves on washing up) and bake for about 30 minutes or until lightly golden.

2 thoughts on “Goodness, gracious, grrreat balls of rice!

  1. THANK YOU!! I was just looking at your rice echidna’s today and wondering how I was going to adapt them to suit my little one. Thank you for doing it for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

