Chicken veggiballs

My little fella is at the age where he refuses to be spoon fed, preferring to feed himself, but he hasn’t quite mastered the spoon or fork technique so the only way I can get food into him is if it’s finger food. I never had this problem with the other 2, if there was food, they’d eat it no matter how it came! Not that my little guy is a fussy eater, I think he’s just SUPER independent with a temper and a stubborn streak…..like someone else I know 😉
My agenda this week has been to make a few different finger foods that I can freeze, that are also tasty and suitable for all the boys so they all have to be dairy, egg, gluten and soy free but also low in salicylates, amines and glutamates…I must admit though, the chicken balls I made do have carrot in them but I figured that after they have been frozen, my super sensitive middle guy won’t be eating them so a little carrot on one occasion won’t hurt. If, however, you must remain very strictly low chemical, just leave the carrot out and perhaps add a little extra of something else, or even a potato (just squeeze out the excess moisture from the tatie).

Another confession too, I wasn’t going to blog these, rather keep them close to my chest to add to my book, but one of the super mums on one of the Faisafe forums I’m on is struggling with getting veggies into he little guy, so I decided to share this today to help her out a little. I just hope it works 🙂

I have no photo of these little balls of goodness because after a huge day in the kitchen I just could not be fagged fussing about with m”food styling” and photos, besides I wasn’t planning on writing them up today and knew I’d be making them again in the near future so planned to photograph them then.

3 small carrots

1 largish swede

2 stalks of celery

8 spring onions, whites and greens

1 choko

3 cloves of garlic (you can use less if you like)

1 kg chicken thigh fillets

1 cup of rice crumbs

2 eggs or equivalent egg replacer

1/2 tsp of saffron

2 tsps of salt

Preheat oven to 180°C. Peel all the veggies, including the garlic, then blitz them in a food processor until they are completely obliterated….yes, they need to be pretty much a pulp. Remove and set aside in a large bowl. Add the chicken fillets to the processor and blitz until almost a paste. Grind the saffron and salt to a powder  in a mortar and pestle  then throw all ingredients, including the egg and crumbs, into the bowl with the veggies and mix really well. Roll into balls, place on baking trays lined with baking paper and bake for 30 minutes or until cooked through.

2 thoughts on “Chicken veggiballs

Leave a Reply

