Vanilla coconut ice cream

Oh it’s all becoming far too much effort! But making frozen desserts isn’t 😉 I’m now 31 weeks pregnant and really starting to suffer. I’m getting too old for this pregnancy game and my pelvis is really not coping too well. That said, my pelvis has been doing really well (as long as I take it easy) and I’ve barely used the crutches my physio has put me on for the duration of the pregnancy, but I haven’t been doing much either, thus reducing my need to rely on them so heavily.

Meals around here have become a little boring and I’m shuffling through a small selection of easily prepared dinners and opting for take away when the big guys are at their father’s. So no inventive new dishes to write about. In fact, I have hardly anything in the cupboard if I should wish to create something new and different. I haven’t done a proper grocery shop in a couple of months because I can no longer push a trolley without aggravating my pelvis so I must shop in small doses where I can put everything on the pram. And I refuse to pay the ridiculous prices for home delivered groceries, as convenient as it is, besides, I can’t read any labels if I shop online and hen feeding kids with food intolerances, that just doesn’t work. So I apologise for my lack of posts but I’m sure you all understand and can find it in your hearts to forgive me.

I recently discovered the most amazing product at my local health food store a couple of weeks back, ground vanilla beans. It cost me just $11 and a little goes a long way. It tastes so much better than vanilla extract and has no alcohol in it and is much cheaper and easier to use than whole vanilla beans. Just a quarter of a teaspoon (or less) is equivalent to 1 vanilla bean but I LOVE vanilla so I’ve been doubling the dose.after stumbling across this, I will never again bother buying vanilla beans or use vanilla extract in cooking…I suggest you go and hunt some down for yourself 😉

800ml of coconut cream

3/4 cup of rice malt syrup

1/2 tsp of ground vanilla bean (or 1 vanilla bean, seeds scraped, or 1 tsp of vanilla essence)

Place all ingredients in a bowl and whisk until combined. Pour into ice cream machine and churn until the desired consistency is reached.

Yep, it’s that simple!!

Leave a Reply

