Prawn Curry

My big guys were at their father’s yet again and all “not-hubby” wanted for dinner was a curry with rice, basmati rice. Who was I to argue? Just so long as it wasn’t too spicy as “belly baby” doesn’t seem to like overly spiced foods these days, and it was a seafood curry of some sort.

I found a curry in a book some time ago that I have made a few times, but of course I always change it slightly. I find that most curries in regular cookbooks lack something…usually a bit of oomph. Now I’m no spice expert, but I do know when a curry is lacking something and I can generally work out what it is. I think most recipes keep it quite mild and almost bland so as not to offend too many Western tastebuds. Well when the kids aren’t around, I like my food to be anything but bland…just not too spicy hot at the moment. So here is my adaptation of the prawn curry from one of my rarely used cookbooks. Oh, by the way, it is far from Failsafe. Another thing, if prawns aren’t your thing, you can use chicken fillets, firm white fish like rockling or you can even make into a vegetarian dish by using potatoes, cauliflower, snow peas, aubergine (eggplant), capsicum. I have even made it with a mix of prawns and white fish.

1/2 kg of raw prawns (peeled)

knob of butter or ghee or just some oil if you want a dairy free option

1 large onion diced

4 cloves of crushed garlic

1 tbsp fresh grated ginger

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (or to taste. I normally use at least half a teaspoon)

2 1/2 tsp of cumin

1 1/2  tsp of ground coriander

1 tsp garam masala

1/2 tsp of turmeric

1 can of chopped tomatoes (about 425g)

200ml of coconut cream

1 finely chopped green chilli

handful of roughly chopped fresh coriander

salt to taste

Heat oil or butter in a medium saucepan then sautee the onion until just tender. Add the garlic and ginger and cook a further minute. Toss in the dried spices and cook until fragrant (about a minute or 2). Add the prawns and tomatoes, bring to the boil then reduce heat and simmer gently for about 10 – 15 minutes or until prawns are cooked through. Add the coconut cream, chilli and salt and heat through but do not boil, then add the coriander. Serve over fluffy basmati rice.

Leave a Reply

