Gluten Free Protein Slice

I’ve been going mad making and eating my gluten free muesli slice lately, so much so that I’ve been making a double batch every week. It has been a very versatile snack indeed and a very convenient breakfast…I’ve even been fighting the kids for the last piece in the container!

Since bubs came along back in February, I’ve been struggling to get a wholesome breakfast down my throat…not because I’m not hungry but because of time and convenience. It’s very tricky eating cereal one handed whilst breast feeding a baby. If you don’t believe me, try it, haha. So my love affair with the above mentioned muesli slice led me to an epiphany…..why don’t I make a protein rich version? So guess what….I did…and here it is. It is YUMMY!

Oh, by the way, this makes a BIG batch!!

2 cups of puffed rice

2 cups of puffed quinoa

1 cup of quinoa flakes

1 cup of roast buckwheat (or buckwheat puffs)

1 cup of sunflower seeds

1 cup of pepitas

1 cup of sesame seeds

1 cup of coconut

1 cup of coconut flour

1 cup of chopped macadamias (or any other nut of your choice)

2 cups of dried cranberries (or other dried fruit of your choice)

250g of honey

125g of butter or dairy free spread

1 cup of brown sugar or sugar substitute

Preheat oven to 120°C. Line a baking tray with baking paper (oil the tray lightly to help paper stick if you wish). Mix all dry ingredients, except the sugar, in a large bowl. Put honey and butter in a saucepan and bring to the boil then reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes. Add the sugar and stir to dissolve. Mix thoroughly through the dry ingredients. Press into baking tray, making sure it is evenly distributed and bake for 30 minutes. Allow to cool in tray before removing and slicing otherwise it will fall apart.

Fresh from the oven

Fresh from the oven

Cut up and ready to devour

Cut up and ready to devour

4 thoughts on “Gluten Free Protein Slice

    • Yes, it’s really quite filling in fact…the perfect breakfast when you’re on the run. I haven’t eaten store bought muesli bars in years but I’m hooked on this. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

