Time for change

Things are going to change around here….I’m heading in a new direction. Failsafe has kinda failed us. We’ve done our darndest and I’ve been feeling as though I’m banging my head against a wall….a very hard wall. It certainly hasn’t been a waste of time, I have learnt a lot…and I mean a LOT…..along the way and it has helped us to identify some major behavioural triggers for both the big guys and also make me incredibly aware of additives and their dangers. Yes, that’s a strong statement but it’s oh so true. Additives in our foods can be downright dangerous!! Toxic!! Stay well away!!!

So, we’ve changed the care plan for my very special boy, my second eldest, my most challenging and sensitive son. I’ve found a new paediatrician, one recommended to me by my gorgeous cousin who has lived the nightmare I am living, with her now 18 year old son, and has come out the other end alive….and so has he. I feel so much more at ease now. We have a doctor who cares. A doctor who is thorough and not dismissive. A doctor who genuinely has his patients’ best interests at heart instead of…and I hate to think this, let alone say it….his pocket.

While I understand that food can certainly contribute to behavioural issues associated with ADHD and autism spectrum disorders, I’ve resigned myself to the fact that I can’t control them completely with food and I’m fighting an uphill battle whilst wearing rollerskates with no brakes, skating through an oil slick. I’m picking my battles and jumping off this ride.

Now we’re concentrating on other therapies and introducing more variety into his diet….but he will remain gluten and dairy free with minimal glutamates and absolutely NO additives. I will be cooking more whole foods, relying on less processed ingredients and sugars, and I will continue to make most things from scratch, only now I’ll be able to source and use some pre packaged condiments just to make my chaotic life a little easier. There will be no more brain busting thinking sessions just to conjure up a flavoursome and interesting family meal or even just a simple snack. No more beige food!!!!

So you can look forward to photos with more colour, food with more flavour and variety, and information on quality additive free products that will make your kitchen adventures a little easier. I’ll even be looking at ways to create nutritious meals that are quick and easy but without the use of highly processed junk. Let’s get back to basics with whole foods!!! Did I mention that I was excited???

20 thoughts on “Time for change

  1. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was super
    long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m
    thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing.

    Do you have any helpful hints for inexperienced blog
    writers? I’d really appreciate it.

  2. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if youu knbew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble
    finding one? Thanks a lot!

  3. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I
    am impressed! Extremely useful info specially the last
    part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  4. Simply wish to say your article is as amazing.
    The clearness in your submit is simply excellent and i can assume you are
    knowledgeable in this subject. Fine together with your
    permission let me to grasp your feed to stay up to date
    with approaching post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please continue the rewarding work.

  5. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your blog
    and wished to mention that I’ve really loved surfing around your weblog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing for your rss feed
    and I’m hoping you write again very soon!

  6. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m
    impressed! Very helpful info particularly the last part
    🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this certain info for a very long time.

    Thank you and best of luck.

  7. I’m impressed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog
    that’s both educative and engaging, and without a doubt,
    you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is
    something that too few folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I am very happy that I found this in my hunt for something
    regarding this.

  8. I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or
    weblog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled
    upon this website. Reading this information So i’m satisfied
    to convey that I’ve a very just right uncanny feeling I
    found out just what I needed. I such a lot for sure will make certain to do not forget this web site and provides it a
    glance on a continuing basis.

  9. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts.

    After all I will be subscribing in your rss feed and I’m hoping you write
    once more very soon!

  10. Excellent blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed
    .. Any tips? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

