Stocking it up!

It’s that time of the month again…..time to replenish my stock.  This time I did it slightly different though, I boiled it for 12 hours instead of 2! I could have added a larger variety of veggies but I like the fact that my stock has a very neutral flavour and therefore can be used for anything from light and fragrant Asian inspired dishes to the heavy and hearty Eastern European stuff. I add no herbs to my stock so I can flavour the final dish however I like.

Normally I throw out the remains after I have decanted the liquid but this time I got thrifty and used them to create a stock concentrate. I little more time consuming but well worth the effort…now I have 3 times the amount of stock I normally produce from the same sized pot….a huge 20 litre one in my case 🙂

Of course, this is just a guide, you can add whatever veggies you like and there are no exact quantities. I also find that keeping a “stock bag” in the freezer is a very economical way of making stock. All it is is a bag of veggie scraps (or stuff my overachieving fridge inadvertently froze for me) that I keep in the freezer for when I make stock. It usually contains things like the celery tops I remove to fit the celery in the fridge, the softer, less appealing green part of the spring onions, cabbage cores, etc.

If using a pot smaller than 20 litres, adjust amounts accordingly.

about 8 chicken frames and as many leg bones as you can get your hands on (this batch had about 10 I think)

1 bunch of dutch carrots with the tops still on

2 swedes

2 leeks

1 bunch spring onions

2 bulbs garlic

1/2 a celery with leaves

2 tbsp salt

water to fill the pot

Roughly chop all the larger veggies, cut the garlic bulbs in half and throw everything into the pot. Fill with water, bring to the boil then reduce heat and simmer for 12 hours. Allow to cool the strain and decant.

IMG_6204

To make the concentrate, remove as much of the meat and veggies as you can, avoiding any bones, and whiz up in a food processor until smooth. Place in a saucepan and simmer until most of the liquid is reduced. Spoon into ice cube trays, cover and freeze. Once frozen, they can be removed from trays and stored in a container in the freezer and used like stock cubes, but bear in mind that they’re not quite as potent.

IMG_6250

 

2 thoughts on “Stocking it up!

  1. Pingback: Chicken Amazeballs Soup | mindyourfeed

  2. Pingback: Chicken Amazeballs Soup | Additive Free Living

Leave a Reply

